My Books

Buy one of my books... Available above at Amazon. Also available at SmashWords, Barnes & Noble and iTunes

Saturday, April 30, 2011

A Personal Thank You

The reviews of my books during the last couple of months have been nothing short of wonderful. And to those of you that have supported me, I send my grateful thanks.

Xannu – The Prophecy has been read by many people, eager to experience the journeys into a land of fantasy that have been described as ‘totally believable’ and ‘exciting and very well written.’ Following is the latest review I received on Amazon from a professional book reviewer:

5.0 out of 5 stars I did not want to stop reading.April 20, 2011
Scott (Columbus, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Xannu - The Prophecy (The Southern Lands) (Kindle Edition)
Xannu follows the young boy Terry (aka Teern) through both his lives. In one he is a normal kid just trying to get through school and hanging out with his friend Joe. In the other he is a soldier blessed with immortality by the Almighty until he finds and announces the Xannu. As Terry he remembers all his adventures as Teern, but as Teern he has no memories of Terry. At first everything is just a fun adventure, but when the two lives start to collide it becomes way more serious for Terry. He starts to struggle through school and things take a nasty turn with his best friend Joe. 

This is a fairly complex story with a lot of characters and bridging two mostly separate realities. However it was told in very understandable way with no confusion at all. The characters are introduced at a good pace so you get to know all of them a little bit before moving on to the next. I really prefer that style as opposed to a story where all the characters are introduced in a lump and then you have to sort them out yourself. Paul Dorset also makes Terry and Joe very easy to relate to for young adults reading this book. I could easily remember myself at that age and understood them very well. The book also had a wonderful pace, it never got bogged down with extraneous details or dialogue. I was kept entertained and did not want anything to interrupt my reading. 

This is a book that will make family reading time in my house for certain. Wonderful job Mr Dorset.

The 10 Hour Project Manager has also surpassed my expectations in sales and kind words. The book summarizes a lot of the tips and tricks that I have learned over the years, managing projects in many countries and different cultures. Following are a couple of the latest reviews I have received on Amazon:

5.0 out of 5 star The 10 Hour Project ManagerApril 28, 2011
This book is filled with genuine, practical insights from an expert in the field of project management. The author describes a project management approach that you can apply to any type of project, whether you are a new or seasoned project manager. Read this book if you desire to be a project manager who adds value to your team and organization.

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best practical book on Project Management.April 27, 2011
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 10 Hour Project Manager (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking to do a great job as a PM and still have a life, get this book. It is written by a very practical project manager for individuals who would like to be more effective and practical in their role as PM. How do I know this? I worked with him for several years on long term international projects with large multinational team. This book accurately reflects what he preached and practiced on the projects and hence my recommendation. I did not decide to write this recommendation as a favor to the author but as a favor to individuals, who can use a really practical guide to managing project and have a life. This author with his approach made it possible for all the team members to have a real work-life balance even on the road. Under him, our team excelled in every area imaginable on a project. I am glad that he decided to put his thoughts into writing so others can benefit from his approach. This would also be a great book for someone starting out as a Project Manager, as well.

So if you haven’t yet had a chance to check out my books, please click on one of the links below and help support my new endeavor. Writing is a tough profession to break into and I value each one of your purchases as I try and make my way onto the bestsellers list.

Xannu - The Prophecy
For fans of Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter and The Narnia Chronicles, the first installment in a thrilling epic fantasy series… 
Would you wake up in a hot sweat if you lived your night’s dreams as a soldier battling un-earthly creatures, witnessing powerful magic and fighting to save your own life on a daily basis? English schoolboy Terry West does. Frequently. 
After digging up some rune coins near a roman road, he has been living in another world inhabited by warlocks, seductresses, priests and prophecy. There Terry is a soldier, Teern Truthbringer, who has been tasked with finding the Xannu - 'he who will lead the people into deliverance.' 
If only it wasn’t real; but it is. Very real. When it all began it was even enjoyable, but now Terry’s life is getting very complicated. Somehow he involved his best friend Joe and although it had seemed a good idea at the time, the consequences had been dire. Then there is Susan, the leggy sister of klutzy school-friend Brian. Why does she keep sending him messages?
Terry is struggling to balance the two lives he leads and every day he is losing his grip on reality just a little bit more. He’s been forced to kill enemies; his companion, the magical woman Maria, is scaring him half to death with her abilities; and his parents are on his back about his school work. 
How will he balance the two lives he leads, solve two sets of problems, and understand the lessons he receives from both? Only time will tell. But time is something Terry doesn't have too much of, as everything is unfolding in ways he could never have imagined! 
Book 1 of 'The Southern Lands' saga
“Listen to the teachings of a wise man. You may not understand all he says but you will surely have nourishment for the future. Be positive and plan for success. Failure to plan is to plan for failure. Worry not at what came before but only prepare yourselves for that which is ahead.” (Pika’Al 10:1-5, The Scriptures of Al’Zaneed)
Available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords @ $0.99

The 10 Hour Project Manager
The objective of this book is to enable the reader to successfully manage most every project you will ever be given in less than ten hours a week. That’s only two hours a day! Okay, when you've stopped laughing read on. This is actually the premise of the book. I have managed successful projects in many companies, in many countries, in many cultures and in many situations. Nearly without fail I have only paid very close attention to the management of that project for about ten hours a week, over the majority of the project lifecycle. In some cases, it was even less!

What will I learn from it? This book is about the meta-rules associated with running a project. It’s about the management skills that will not only help you decide what you need to pay close attention to but also what you can safely de-prioritize. This will allow you to focus on the relevant and important items in a project. Every project is a little different, but the meta-rules are the same. By the end of this book you should have all the tools necessary to be able to successfully manage most projects in only ten hours a week (during the majority of the lifecycle). Just think what you will be able to do with all that spare time. Maybe you'll even be able to start that little money-earning side project you've always intended to get underway!
Available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords @ $5.99

PS. PLEASE tell all your friends and PLEASE forward this blog post!

Have a great weekend!

No comments:

Post a Comment